Food for the Social Media Soul

Twitter is magical. It can bring together people with similar interests and with a lil bit of creativity, can generate some wonderful ideas.

Hence the case for Pizza Rustica, Victorian Truffles, Gino Rocco, and me.

What began as an innocent twitter conversation exploded into a profound collaboration – capitalizing on each company’s products.

Behold what could be the greatest cross-country, delicious food, digital collaboration:

#SSS

Savory, Sweets, and Sips

Savory –

Pizza Rustica. Is more than just amazing, yummy, can I have one of each pizza place. It is my new neighborhood go-to gem! Located only a few blocks north of Wrigley Field, it transports you to an entirely different world. I’m Italian. I’ve visited and lived in Italy. I have high standards for Italian food. Pizza Rustica – meets them! Start out your meal with one of the appetizers (on any given night choose between 3 to 5 options). Main course is certainly covered: choose from 6 – 9 entrees (from seafood and fish to lamb and steak and everything in between) – this is on the blackboard alone! #Foodcoma. Feeling like some pasta – they’ve got it. And they’ve got a lot of it! Simple and delicious like Bolognese. Or the recent blackboard pasta – Handmade Pasta stuffed with Braised Pork, Grilled Peaches & Rosemary in Brown Butter Sauce. Come for some pizza? You will NOT be disappointed. Oven baked, rustic pizza cooked to order on homemade crust. Not only is it can’t-stop-eating type of pizza: 1/2 pizzas and whole pizzas and slices during lunch on the weekends. Or if you are into new samplers every day, check out their blackboard menu – changes daily (and that menu alone is robust enough to satisfy any craving). As their website states: So much more than pizza! (trust me, my tummy hears that).

 

Sweet –

As if Pizza Rustica’s dessert options aren’t enough (between 5 and 7 options – enough to satisfy any craving) enter Victorian Truffles. So. many. truffles. Little bites of decadence with flavors such as champagne, whisky, and limited edition flavors like tequila & lime red chile. They use only the finest ingredients – if they have homegrown mint, that is used in the mint truffles. Talk (or shall I say taste) the quality!

Plus, Victorian Truffles is located in Las Vegas. You KNOW that has to be a good thing.

 

Sips –

It’s a good thing I only live a block away from Pizza Rustica because the drinks – I want one of everything. I just visited this past Wednesday and enjoyed the Moscato Lime Spritzer (sweet, tart & fizzy – Moscato, fresh basil, fresh lime juice) – it was like summer on my tongue. Additionally, their extensive wine collection will satisfy any wine-o in the greater Chicago area.

 

The interaction on Twitter, minds are blazing with thoughts on pairing something savory with a sweet truffle and sipping on a cocktail or wine. Ahem, I gladly volunteer my taste-buds to test said pairings. Might I suggest the blackboard menu pasta special, Champagne Dark Chocolate truffle, and Venetian Spritz. I’m an expert!

 

If the potential #SSS isn’t enough…Both are family owned. Both offer something unique.

My advice – try Pizza Rustica. Try Victorian Truffles. And if you aren’t lucky to do either, then just check out their digital presence and be jealous!

Pizza Rustica –pizza rustica

website

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

vt logo

Victorian Truffles –

website

Twitter

Facebook

 

My mouth is watering…excuse me while I daydream about pasta and pizza and truffles and wine.

Leave a comment