Laura Takes On LA

LA. City of Angels. La La Land. No matter the name you use to refer to Los Angeles, the city and surrounding area is absolutely amazing.

Let’s backtrack a bit – I have traveled. I have traveled a lot domestically and across the globe. Yet had never made it to the LA area. It’s a shame really. My preconceived notions of what Los Angeles is and has to offer is based on the I Love Lucy episodes where Lucy, Ricky, Fred, and Ethel move out there for a few weeks.

So yes, my idea of LA in the 1950’s is what I had imagined and hoped that it would be in 2014.

Although not exactly the same, the area did NOT disappoint. Nope, not at all.

The reason for the trip began with a work event on Saturday afternoon. But, as with most of my work trips (such as London), I extend for some personal days. Sounds fabulous but can be quite stressful. What should have been a nice, enjoyable, 4 day adventure was certainly just that. An adventure. Read on for a day by day recap;

Thursday –

I have a 9:00am flight (this is early for me) so I hop in a cab and off to the airport I go. Worried about rush hour traffic in Chicago, I allocated more time but everything ended up fine. I’m flying Virgin America and I have my purse and carry on suitcase. Make my way to the gate and aahhhhhh – tons of seats with phone chargers (genius). A guy (probably around 24 years old) sits next to me and asks me to watch his bag while he goes to buy the earbuds. Um…. ok. He returns, I’m sarcastic (mental note: sarcasm in airports doesn’t translate well) and tries to chat with me. No, I’m not an LA local and no I’m not visiting some college buds.

Next up, they are taking volunteers to ‘gate check’ bags since the flight is full. I think it over, considering I have some work things in the suitcase yet it is heavy and I don’t necessarily need to be anywhere immediately when I land so I opt to check it.

Hop on the plane for a 4 hour flight to La La Land. I get stuck with an aisle seat and a women in the middle seat with a small bladder – so no nap for me. Because Virgin America is awesome, each seat has the TV screens filled with entertainment.

We land, I go to baggage claim, waiting for the luggage and ‘Laura Syndrome’ strikes again – random passenger/stranger starts chatting with me (she’s from WI, in town for a work thing on Fri and Sat and her husband is flying to meet her so she had to check 2 bags, etc etc…). I finally see my suitcase (yay!) AND THE ENTIRE THING IS FLOPPED OPEN! No. Joke. I start cursing and retrieving my strewn items on the conveyer belt doing a mental check of what is missing. A passenger walks up amid my panicked scene and ‘here ma’am, I think this is your computer charger’. My savior!

I then head on over to Budget to get my rental car. Longer line there than at O’hare security. The guy suggests an upgrade (dude, it’s just me and a suitcase, smallest car is fine). I say where I’ll be driving and he asks if I’m a local (since I talk like I know what I’m doing). Haha! Get to the rental car and head on up to Santa Monica to a condo I rented on Airbnb (first time). Fabulous location. I quickly unpack and decide to stop by a hotel (that most are staying at for the work gig) to pick up UPS items. I check the tracking info (3 boxes delivered). Go to Loews and Roger, concierge man, he is my bestie. Only 1 box is there (uh oh) but my car is parked around the corner so I ask if I can go walk the Pier and come back to get it. He says yes and wants to buy me a margarita! So I trek to the Santa Monica Pier for touristy things.

20140629-195729.jpg

20140629-195656.jpg

20140629-195712.jpg

After an hour, I need food and drink so walk to some pub with outside seating.

I wander to Ye Olde King’s Head where I’m not even half through the menu, am faced with, shall I say live entertainment (a lot, I mean a LOT of police activity, FBI, helicopters, caution tape) after I finished eating, wandered back to the beach to dip my feet in the ocean and head back to the condo for quick shower.

20140629-195814.jpg

Because one of the 2 things I MUST do while in the LA area is…

Go to dinner. Not just at any place. No. This place, this place I stumbled upon while researching is my name sake!

La Vecchia Cucina.

La Vecchia Cucina

Needless to say, I made an impression and made friends (side note, after having been to and living in Italy, I can confirm it is indeed yummy delicious food!).

20140701-202217.jpg

20140701-202236.jpg

Even a wonderful lady who happened to be sitting next to me, Mary, was originally from Chicago. Crazy how small of a world it really is and amazing the people you meet simply by being nice. After nearly closing down the (fabulous) restaurant, I drive back to the condo after a long day.

Friday –

I have to tackle the work issue with missing boxes (arrange for Saturday noon delivery) and pick up some last minute signage. After that – tourist time! First up was Hollywood & Highland. Here I meet other tourists (2 men from Europe) who ask me to take their photo. Then I see them again 5 minutes later and dutifully oblige, again. They take my pic then ask to get a pic WITH me (because they thought I was a local?).

20140629-195910.jpg

I walk along the Hollywood Walk of Fame, then stop at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre to see the famed footprints. Referencing the I Love Lucy episode, I find John Wayne’s! So thank you, Lucille Ball.

Grauman's John Wayne

After a few hours there, I drive over to the Grove because I scored last minute tickets (well, they are free) to see The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson. Thus begins the long adventure. First, I meet 2 randoms (locals) that were looking for the studio as well. We opt to stand in line early. It’s LA. As we are standing on the sidewalk, a guy walks up and asks to take a photo. I assume a photo of all of us standing in line for the show. Nope he was asking me, directly. I ask ‘why?’ He says ‘because I take pics of celebs’ to which I respond, with the tone ‘uhmmm, yah I am NOT a celeb’ – now this has the folks flanking each side of me curious. Who AM I? 5 minutes later, a car drives along (it’s a busy street) and honks…at me. Ok NOW the folks are really asking who I am. I’m a nobody from Chicago, if I WERE someone, you think I would be standing in the sun for 3 hours for a show?!

Apparently a maxi dress, large sunglasses, and hair blowing in the breeze makes you look like a celeb. I think my spray tan helped too.

Well, line after line, hour after hour, we are finally allowed inside. It’s first come first serve for both priority tickets and then regular tickets (that’s me) – well, the Laura Luck continued because as we are filling in the seats, because I am by my lonesome, I get front row, middle section, aisle seat. THE BEST. The Luck flows more with the fact that it’s not just ONE taping. Nope it’s two. I got to see Diane Kruger and Max Greenfield. I’d say, that was pretty spectacular.

After the show, I hope in my lil rental car to drive to Rodeo Drive and past the famed Beverly Hills sign.

Rodeo DriveBeverly Hills sign

Then decide to test my luck for drinks…at the local hotspot. Research showed that Chateau Marmont doesn’t just allow regular folks/walk-ins from the street. But there is Bar Marmont about 50 yards down the street. I manage supreme street parking and can’t really tell which place is which. I see a group of 4 people (appearing to be workers) outside so I stroll on up to ask where is Bar Marmont. The wonderful lady explains it’s just a bit down the road but asks if it’s just me. I say yes I just need a drink. She says she can see if they’ll take a walk in. Me (mind is racing, what-the-heck-is-this-really-happening) Oh well how about I hop down to Bar for a drink and I’ll stop back up in an hour to see.

Walk to Bar Marmont (mind you it is Friday at 6:30) and it has about 4 patrons. Boring. I indulge in 2 drinks because the lady bartender was from Chicago. I put on my brave face, walk back up to Chateau and the lady is no where to be found. But, one of the guys is eager to assist. I get entrance into Chateau Marmont. No. Joke. I enter, go to the bar. The bartender (notice a trend, I make friends) – his father is from near my hometown (small town in the middle of nowhere Illinois)! 2 drinks and some tweeting (no photos…ok I snuck a photo of the drink) I head on back to the condo to prepare for the work gig tomorrow.

20140701-203331.jpg

Saturday –

After making myself all pretty, I head back to Hotel Loews to retrieve the packages. Ahem, only 1 was delivered. After taking matter into my own hands and telling UPS how to do their job, I sadly have to drive into the hills, one box short. But in the words of Vanilla Ice “if there was a problem, yo I’ll solve it” and work my magic at some Hollywood mansion in the hills. Valet, caterers (made friends again!) and bartenders (= friends). Really one of the most awesome work gigs I’ve experienced. With a view.

20140701-203444.jpg

That ends around 6 and now on to the 2nd most critical thing to see/do in LA area….

THE GOLDEN GIRLS HOUSE (not the one they filmed at, not the one at Universal Studios). The original, actual, inspiration behind the show. Besides the ADT van circling, twice, I was able to snap some photos. (FYI: address is 245 N. Saltair Ave)

20140701-203559.jpg 20140701-203622.jpg 20140701-203644.jpg

Ahhhhhmazing.

20140701-203710.jpg

Now, I realize this is my last Cali sunset so rush to the condo, put on some flip flops, google for ‘best bar with sunset view in Santa Monica’ which lands me at The Penthouse located at The Huntley Hotel (and walking distance). I stroll in, not realizing reservations are optimal. Walk straight to the bar, find an open spot, and one of the 5 bartenders comes up to me. Me “I need a drink.” he gives me a menu, I review (kiwi and prosecco….um yes!) and hand over my credit card. Upon his return to me, pronounces my last name correctly. Because his last name, is La Vecchia. I can’t make this stuff up. I have my own thoughts on how and why I manage to find La Vecchia Cucina and one dude with La Vecchia last name while on this trip at this time. What I thought would be just 1 drink, did not turn out to be 1 drink.

 

20140701-203724.jpgNext drink was a grapefruit concoction. And then some grape cocktail. And I’ve made friends – with Peter, Mahoney, and Dave (3 bartenders). The guy next to me who practically lives there 6 months out of the year. Benson who is coming to Chicago for Lollapalooza. Some guy from Europe that had poor beer choice. And Frenchie who was a former bartender at the bar.

After I’ve indulged myself, I realize it is nearly 1am and I should head on back to the condo (while I still remember where it is located). I ask for my bill, somewhat afraid of what the total might be since I wasn’t drinking $4 drafts here. Get the bill, I swear I looked at all 3 bartender friends assuming they forgot my bill. Grand total: $41 for at last count of 6 magical cocktails. Wow. No fear, I left a GREAT tip. Then, upon me trying to leave, I have patrons (those mentioned above) are saying ‘No, Laura, you CAN’T leave!’ and the bartenders giving me hugs. To be honest, I’m half shocked, half not surprised at all. This is, after all, my life.

I arrive back at the condo, and fall into bed.

Sunday –

Wake up, with an attempt to go to Runyon Canyon (I know, I know…I don’t walk more than .5 miles and yet I packed my new Nike kicks). Let’s just say I’ll save that for my next trip. I finish packing and bid adieu to Santa Monica.

As I’m not even 2 minutes out on Santa Monica Blvd, I see a guy with a camera. I look out on my left side across the street and sure enough. Paparazzi! Because I’m quick, I am able to snap a photo with my phone. Honestly, not quite sure who it is but believe it was Arnold Schwarzenegger.

20140701-204117.jpg

I drive the 10 minutes to Venice Beach area. That is a completely different vibe! I stroll along, admiring the scenery and the interesting people. But I did see America’s Smallest Front Yard!

20140701-205730.jpg

After an hour, it’s about time to head back to the airport to return the rental car and have the chance to stalk some celebs at LAX. Unfortunately, no celeb spotting at the airport, but I was one of the ‘chosen at random’ to go through the speedy security – a la “leave your shoes on, computer in the bag, liquids in”. Whoah! Makes that a breeze.

Another aisle seat, with 2 dudes, and a nice 4 hour nap. Landing at nearly midnight CST I’m exhausted. And yet, the cab line at O’hare is longer than security. Ugh. Finally, finally, I am home in the comforts of my own bed. Reflecting on a whirlwind weekend of fun, adventure, and Laura antics…

With a hope and a dream, that someday, I shall return. And maybe for longer than 4 days.

Until then, LA aren’t the first two letters of my name for nothin’ 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Laura Takes On LA

Leave a comment